Humanism Is My Religion

I have always said, in reply, (to friends who ask why I no longer take organised religion

seriously) that I did not previously attend church because I wanted to go to heaven or expected a miracle.

Nothing new can happen, the sun will always rise in the east and set in the west.

 

But I went to church because it was a community of people like myself.

People I grew up with; friends, neighbours etc who make up the larger community.

If there is a God, and I believe there are many, then they must be concerned about the welfare of humanity.

 

By promoting the welfare of humanity, we are realising God and therefore advancing our spirituality.

This is why I cannot surrender my intellect or emotions to any organised religion but humanism.

I have never felt as bored anywhere as when I am in church —

 

If not for brief conversations with old friends.

I don’t think it has anything to do with the priests or prophets or the scriptures.

I can tell there is an originator, when I consider the process of human reproduction.

 

But I don’t think any religion can make evil men good

Or good men evil, religions may facilitate it though.

There are men who are inherently good and others inherently evil.

 

When people sing and make chattering noises on the street we label them maniacs.

But in the church, it indicates most profound “piousness.”

I will rather stroll in the forest and listen to birds sing.

 

 

“Truth is so hard to tell, it sometimes needs fiction to make it plausible.”

 — Francis Bacon

 

2 thoughts on “Humanism Is My Religion

  1. Nature is my religion, also 🙂 The Pope did say something very wise recently (as an Ex-Catholic I never expected anything like this coming from a pope’s mouth): that people do not need to be part of religion (or even believe in God) to be good people. And that there are plenty of people inside the church who could not be considered good people. Our actions, the way we treat ourselves, others and our environment, are the true measuring stick of our character. Anything else is just labels, or for show…

    Like

    • Precisely. Church going is, for most people, a perfect camouflage. Also, I read somewhere that another name for religion is “Not wanting to know truth.” So I came to the conclusion a long time ago that although most religions are not to be trusted, and that without them there will still be good people and bad people, religions are valuable tools in the organization of society, at least, at the low levels. My unbelief notwithstanding, to those who seek wisdom, I commend the Bible as a source of valuable literature and as a starting point in so far as it promotes humanitarianism. The Bible can also get poetic sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

