Speaking with high school graduates about career choices

I was invited to speak to high school students, many of whom have recently graduated and are not sure what kind of university programme to study or what to do with their lives. In Ghana it’s very common to see talent go waste. So ofcourse I was happy to share my knowledge and experience. I had not prepared any notes so I spoke generally about education and work and told them to ask any questions they have.

Speaking about graduate and undergraduate programmes at the university where I work.

Explaining the importance of following one’s passion. Nothing beats passion. 

I explained to them not to only focus on certificates but rather they must also focus on the transformation of their minds. Certificate gives validation but hard work brings success.

Here I think I was getting a little carried away but it was necessary because the ignorance in this country is frightening. There was a question about parents deciding for their children what programme to study. I answered the questioner whether he will be happy studying what his parents want him to study, he said no. Then tell your parents what you are passionate about, I told him; otherwise you will get your degree but will not be able to make maximum use of it.

I think the gentleman in white was telling me about his passion for biology and hereditary. I told him to read, read and read about genetics. As long as one aims at knowledge, one cannot escape reading.

Closing chat: Find what you love doing and build a career around it. You can decide to dabble in a lot of things but you can’t compete with another person who has the passion, has got the relevant education and is fully focused on the one thing he or she is good at. Success is not by chance. 

At the end, I was happy to hit the nail on the head. I think it was a productive discussion. Sometimes one has to go out there and share his or her knowledge with others. If only one person among these youths listened and followed his or her heart, I will consider my job as a humanist done. They say when the learner is ready to learn a teacher appears. That’s all folks.

Share your thoughts

